The Transport for Wales team

The main purpose of our Board is to ensure Transport for Wales meets the requirements of its remit as set by the Welsh Government, and to ensure the delivery of our strategy.

The TfW Board is made up of the Chair, Chief Executive, four independent non-executives and two executive members. Its role is to:

  • provide effective leadership for TfW; defining and developing strategic direction, and setting objectives;
  • provide effective leadership for the operation of the organisation; holding the Chief Executive to account for ensuring that TfW’s activities are conducted efficiently and effectively;
  • monitor performance to ensure that TfW fully meets its aims, objectives and performance targets; and
  • promote high standards of public finance; upholding the principles of regularity, propriety and value for money. 


The Board meets eleven times a year, and has additional Board Development Days as required. We publish minutes of our Board meetings; they are available here



Board of Directors

Non-Executive Directors

Scott Waddington Profile
Scott Waddington (Chair)

Scott is chair of the board of Transport for Wales.

Alun Bowen Profile
Alun Bowen (Non-Executive Director)

Audit and Risk Committee Chair

Sarah Howells Profile
Sarah Howells (Non-Executive Director)

Customer and Communication Committee Chair

Nicola Kemmery Profile
Nicola Kemmery (Non-Executive Director)

Health, Safety and Wellbeing Committee Chair

Alison Noon Jones Profile
Alison Noon-Jones (Non-Executive Director)

People Committee Chair

Vernon Everitt Profile
Vernon Everitt (Chair of Major Projects Committee)

Executive Directors

James Price (Chief Executive)

Heather Clash (Finance Director)


Senior Leadership

The Board delegates to the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Chair, the discharge of all functions other than the following:

  • any matter reserved to the Board;
  • any matter delegated to a committee or sub-committee of the Board.

To support the Chief Executive in delivering these functions, our management structure consists of a number of groups that oversee the organisation's strategic and operational activities.

The senior leadership works in partnership with the Board when developing TfW’s strategy. The senior leadership is accountable for the day-to-day activities of the organisation and provides corporate leadership.

As TfW’s Accounting Officer, the Chief Executive (James Price) is personally responsible for:

  • the proper stewardship of the public funds;
  • day to-day operations and management of Transport for Wales; and
  • ensuring compliance with the requirements of ‘Managing Welsh Public Money’. 

Executive Leadership Team | Open as PDF 

James Price Profile
James Price

Chief Executive Officer

David O'Leary Profile
David O’Leary

Transformation and Business Change Director

Leyton Powell Profile
Leyton Powell

Safety, Sustainability and Risk Director

Geoff Ogden Profile
Geoff Ogden

Chief Transport Planning and Development Officer

Alexia Course Profile
Alexia Course

Chief Commercial Officer 

Marie Daly Profile
Marie Daly

Chief Customer and Culture Officer

Dan Tipper Profile
Dan Tipper

Chief Infrastructure Officer

Jan Chaudry-Van Der Velde Profile
Jan Chaudry-Van Der Velde

Chief Operations Officer

Heather Clash Profile
Heather Clash

Chief Finance, Governance and Corporate Services Officer

Lewis Brencher Profile
Lewis Brencher

Communications and Engagement Director

Dave Williams Profile
Dave Williams

IT and Digital Services Director

Karl Gilmore Profile
Karl Gilmore

Rail Programme Director

Lee Robinson Profile
Lee Robinson

Development Director Mid, North and Rural Wales

Lisa Yates Profile
Lisa Yates

Director of People and Organisational Development